Bruit Clair Records

Mathias Delplanque - Passeports (BC03)

Mathias Delplanque - Parcelles 1-10 (BC01)


Mathias Delplanque - Passeport 3 (Dieppe)

Mathias Delplanque - Passeport 7 (Nantes)

Get this album
  • Artist Mathias Delplanque
  • Album Passeports
  • Label Bruit Clair / Cronica Electronica
  • Format CD / digital
  • Catalogue N° BC03
  • Release date February 2010
  1. Passeport 1 (Nantes)08:38
  2. Passeport 2 (Lille)07:18
  3. Passeport 3 (Dieppe)08:35
  4. Passeport 4 (Nantes)01:07
  5. Passeport 5 (Lille)04:45
  6. Passeport 6 (Nantes)07:01
  7. Passeport 7 (Nantes)12:35

Passeports is a series of works composed from various field-recordings realized in transport-related locations across France (train stations, harbours, parking lots, transit areas...) and weaved into dense ambient compositions. Passeport 3 (Dieppe) further includes recordings made in a call center in New Delhi. These recordings were the whole of the raw material used in the composition of this album, and were then themselves transported to Mathias Delplanque's home, where they were played back into the spaces of the various rooms, so that the mix between the broadcast sounds and domestic noises would itself be recorded to become the final version of the tracks - something that is particularly clear in Passeport 7 (Nantes), the track that concludes the CD. Passeports is a work that questions the relations between space and music - between the sound and its space, between the music and its place.

Passeports is Mathias Delplanque's 8th solo album under his own name. It follows the line of albums such as Ma chambre quand je n’y suis pas (Montréal) (Mondes Elliptiques 2006), L’inondation (Mystery Sea 2008), La Plinthe (Optical Sound 2008), Ma chambre quand je n’y suis pas (Paris) (Taâlem 2009)…

This record is co-produced with portuguese label Cronica Electronica.

Cover painting by Steve Roden